Jewish Studies

In the process of the modernization and the intra-Jewish Haskalah (Jewish Enlightenment), Jewish Studies have shifted more and more from the purely theological education to subjects such as philosophy, literature studies, history, fine arts, and cultural studies. This process gave rise to the emergence of the “Science of Judaism” in the 19th century, which would create a broad spectrum of Jewish scholarship, most notably in Berlin. On account of the antisemitism in the German Empire and the Weimar Republic – which was also prevalent in the sciences – the “Science of Judaism” did not gain access to German universities. In hindsight, of course, it is clear how significant the Jewish shares in the German culture and science have been and still are. In this respect, “Jewish Studies” also imply the exploration of German intellectual and cultural legacies. This becomes manifest, for example, in the fact that texts and questions from the field of “Jewish Studies” have become part of the canon of many subjects.

In the foreground of the questions is the exploration of the participation and transculturality of Judaism particularly in the context of European culture, starting with its development in the Late Antiquity. Taking into consideration the religious dimensions of European Judaism, which include the religious teachings and practice, and therefore also the religious Jewish literature, the diversity of European Judaism with its distinct religious and secular characteristics can be illustrated in the respective research contexts. By means of a synchronous, diachronic and at the same time inter- and transdisciplinary examination, not only the rich cultural and religious heritage of Judaism reveals itself, but it is also expected that in the process of research the scientific methods will be refined and, in terms of contents, enhanced. The enrichment and transfer arising from the participation of establishments representing a Jewish Theology and Philosophy of Judaism will benefit all academic facilities. Along with the promotion of young academics, its research results, and the reinforcement of the internationality of Jewish Studies in Germany, the Center will make a vital contribution to the content-related and institutional reconception of religious studies by incorporating these results into the discourse of a variety of disciplines.

In all of the disciplines and establishments in which Jewish Studies are pursued today, an adjustment in society’s interest has become perceptible in the last years: When until the 1980s, it was concerned primarily with the dialogue between Judaism and Christianity, since the 1990s it has focused on the relation of the three major monotheistic religions among themselves. For this reason, the ZJS will not only link Judaism-related institutions, but also include the interreligious perspective in its selection of subject-matters and partners.

(Excerpt from the application for the establishment of the Zentrum Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg)

Jüdische Studien

Im Prozess der Modernisierung und der innerjüdischen Haskala (Aufklärung) haben sich die Jüdischen Wissenschaften von der rein theologischen Ausbildung immer weiter in Fächer wie die Philosophie, die Literaturwissenschaften, die Geschichte, die Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften verlagert. Der Prozess führte im 19. Jahrhundert zur Entstehung der ‚Wissenschaft des Judentums’, die vor allem in Berlin ein breites Spektrum an jüdischer Gelehrsamkeit schuf. Wegen des – auch in der Wissenschaft verbreiteten – Antisemitismus im Kaiserreich und in der Weimarer Republik fand die ‚Wissenschaft des Judentums’ jedoch keinen Zugang zur deutschen Hochschule. Rückblickend ist freilich zu erkennen, wie bedeutend die jüdischen Anteile an der deutschen Kultur und Wissenschaft waren und sind. Insofern implizieren die ‚Jüdischen Studien’ auch die Erforschung deutscher geistiger und kultureller Erbschaften. Das zeigt sich unter anderem daran, dass Texte und Fragestellungen aus dem Bereich der ‚Jüdischen Studien’ heute zu einem Teil des Kanons vieler Fächer geworden sind. 

Im Vordergrund der Fragestellungen steht die Erforschung der Partizipation und Transkulturalität des Judentums vor allem im Kontext europäischer Kultur, beginnend mit ihrer Ausprägung in der Spätantike. Unter Berücksichtigung der religiösen Dimensionen des europäischen Judentums, zu denen die religiöse Lehre und die Praxis, mithin auch die religiöse jüdische Literatur gehören, wird sich in den jeweiligen Untersuchungs-zusammenhängen die Vielfalt des europäischen Judentums in verschiedenen religiösen und säkularen Ausprägungen aufzeigen lassen. Durch eine synchrone, diachrone und zugleich inter- und transdisziplinäre Betrachtung erschließt sich nicht nur der kulturelle und religiöse Reichtum des Judentums, sondern es steht zu erwarten, dass die jeweiligen wissenschaftlichen Methoden im Vollzug dieser Forschungen geschärft und inhaltlich erweitert werden. Durch die Beteiligung von Einrichtungen, die eine jüdische Theologie und Philosophie des Judentums vertreten, werden eine Bereicherung und ein Transfer stattfinden, von dem alle wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen profitieren. Das Zentrum wird neben der Nachwuchsförderung, seinen Forschungsergebnissen und der Verstärkung der Internationalität Jüdischer Studien in Deutschland zugleich einen bedeutenden Beitrag zur inhaltlichen und institutionellen Neukonzeption von Studien zu Religionen leisten, indem diese Ergebnisse in den Diskurs verschiedenster Disziplinen eingebracht werden.

In allen Disziplinen und Einrichtungen, in denen heute Jüdische Studien betrieben werden, ist in den letzten Jahren eine Verschiebung des gesamtgesellschaftlichen Interesses spürbar geworden: Galt bis in die 1980er Jahre das Interesse vor allem dem Dialog zwischen Judentum und Christentum, so richtete es sich seit den 1990ern auf das Verhältnis der drei großen monotheistischen Religionen untereinander. Deshalb wird das ZJS nicht nur judentumsbezogene Institutionen vernetzen, sondern bei der Wahl der Themen und der Partner auch die interreligiöse Perspektive einbeziehen.

(Auszug aus dem Antrag zur Einrichtung des Zentrums Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg)