Structure of the ZJS

The Zentrum Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg (ZJS) is jointly supported by the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, the Freie Universität Berlin, the Technische Universität Berlin, the Universität Potsdam, the European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder), the Abraham Geiger College and the Moses Mendelssohn Center for European-Jewish Studies.

The center’s structure has four levels:

1)      The board of trustees is composed of one representative from the management bodies of the six supporting institutions, respectively, one representative of the Federal Ministry of Research and Education, and one representative each of the federal state governments Berlin and Brandenburg.

2)      The board of directors consists of one representative of the involved supporting institutions, respectively. The board of directors is the decision-maker with regard to all of the center’s issues and provides an account to the board of trustees on an annual basis.

3)      Among the board of directors, a member of the universities’ representatives is elected academic manager on an annual rotation basis.

4)      With regard to content, the work of the ZJS is accompanied by an academic advisory board which is composed of a maximum of five persons and assigned by the board of Trustees.

Struktur des Zentrums

Träger des Zentrums Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg sind die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Freie Universität Berlin, die Technische Universität Berlin, die Universität Potsdam, die Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder), das Abraham Geiger Kolleg und das Moses Mendelssohn Zentrum für europäisch-jüdische Studien. 

Die Struktur des Zentrums sieht vier Ebenen vor:

  1. Das Kuratorium setzt sich aus je einem Vertreter der Leitungsorgane der sieben Träger, einem Vertreter des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung sowie je einem Vertreter der Landesregierungen Berlin und Brandenburg zusammen. Das Kuratorium berät das Direktorium in allen Angelegenheiten, die von grundsätzlicher und besonderer Bedeutung sind.
  2. Das Direktorium besteht aus je einem Vertreter oder einer Vertreterin der beteiligten Träger. Es entscheidet in allen Belangen des Zentrums und legt gegenüber dem Kuratorium jährlich Rechenschaft ab.  
  3. Aus dem Direktorium wird im jährlichen Rotationsverfahren jeweils ein Mitglied der Vertreter der Universitäten als akademische Leitung gewählt.
  4. Inhaltlich wird die Arbeit des ZJS durch einen Wissenschaftlichen Beirat aus maximal fünf Personen begleitet, der durch das Kuratorium besetzt wird.